Types of glaucoma

Glaucoma may be classified according to different aspects. Mainly:

According to the age of the patient:

  1. Congenital and developmental (from birth to 10 years) – Congenital glaucoma
  2. Juvenile (10 years to 35 years) – Juvenile glaucoma
  3. Adult (after 35 years)

According to the cause:

  1. Primary: Non-identifiable cause, occurs in susceptible individuals.
  2. Secondary: occurs due to other causes such as after trauma, drugs, other ocular diseases, intraocular surgeries, etc. – Secondary glaucoma

According to the site of obstruction of drainage system of the eye:

  1. Primary open angle glaucoma – Open angle glaucoma
  2. Primary angle closure glaucoma – Angle closure glaucoma

World Glaucoma Association

Important message for glaucoma patients

It is important for you to get yourself regularly screened for glaucoma. If you have been diagnosed to have glaucoma, effective treatment options are now available and regular treatment and follow up can help you to preserve your vision for your lifetime, avoiding unnecessary fear of going blind.

You can live happily with glaucoma and enjoy an excellent quality of life, particularly if the disease is detected early and treated in time. Always remember that once you have glaucoma, you will have to be under the care of an eye doctor for the rest of your life.

There is a lot of research going on and new treatments may become available for glaucoma in the near future.

World Glaucoma Association

WGA Facebook
WGA Twitter

World Glaucoma Congress




International Glaucoma Review


World Glaucoma Week